Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 50 over batting struggles

Hi guys,

I’m a big football manager fan, and an even bigger cricket fan, who’s just discovered the game. Just got the England job, and my first tour is a 3 match ODI series in India. I’ve been playing some practice games outside of my career to get a feel for international cricket, and the one thing I can’t do is bat overs 30-50 in a one day game.

England obviously have a really strong and aggressive batting lineup, and I can use them to good effect to start with. In most games, I’m getting 60-70 in the power play, then I’m 180+ for 1-3 wickets after 30 overs. However from there, the wheels fall off. I try to kick on for a big score, moving my batsmen to the first orange aggression level once they’re fully settled and then to the second for the last 5-10 overs, but as soon as I lose a wicket, the new batsmen can’t buy a run, even on yellow aggression levels. They then bog the innings down, I struggle to score at 6 an over, and I collapse to less than 300 (my last innings went from 204-1 at 30 overs to 274 all out after 45!).

Any tips for what I should be doing to accelerate at the end of a 50 over innings? I’d assumed Morgan, Stokes, buttler would be able to comfortably score at 7-8 an over, and even more at the death, but in 10 or so games I’ve chased over 300 once and never set over 300, despite strong starts usually.